The Brooks School Athletics Hall of Fame was established to honor those individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the quality and tradition of Brooks School athletics. Student athletes, coaches, managers, and administrators will all be eligible for selection into the Hall of Fame. Athletes and managers will first become eligible upon the tenth anniversary of the end of their final year at Brooks. Coaches and administrators will first become eligible upon their retirement from Brooks.

What does it take?

While not exclusive, the following attributes should be principal factors in making appropriate selections for induction into the Hall of Fame:

Sportsmanship – The display of good sportsmanship in victory or defeat is a quality that has been valued highly by the Brooks athletic tradition. Good sportsmanship reflects grace, consideration for fellow athletes and an important sense of perspective about the outcome of the athletic contest.

Athletic Excellence – The possession of natural athletic talent and skills is to be admired. However, it is the presence of such talent in combination with desire, hard work and determination that leads to exceptional and memorable performances that create new standards for determining athletic excellence. While the demonstration of athletic excellence as a Brooks student is the primary focus, consideration should also be given to ongoing performance after leaving Brooks.

Versatility – Despite the trend in the modern athletic era toward specialization, the Brooks athletic tradition still values the versatility and perspective of the multi-sport athlete. The athlete who participates in more than one sport displays broader athletic abilities as well as a general affection for athletics.

Character – Character is a broad term that is difficult to define in the abstract but easy to identify in practice. Maturity, commitment, unselfishness and perseverance in the face of adversity all evidence a sense of character that the Brooks community seeks to foster in its students.

Leadership – Whether by example or by enthusiastic encouragement, leadership is a necessary component of any successful athletic team. The development of leadership talents on the Brooks playing fields has provided many Brooks students with a sense of responsibility and a willingness to lead later in life.

Commitment – Commitment to excellence, to teammates, to Brooks and finally to oneself demonstrates a strong will and determination. Such commitment reflects an understanding of the overall value of the Brooks athletics and academic experience and engenders a desire to support and perpetuate the Brooks experience for the benefit of future generations.


Athletics Hall of Fame Committee

  • Amy Broadhead '94
  • Lori Charpentier P'20, former Athletic Director
  • Roberta Crump-Burbank P'11
  • Seymour Knox '73
  • Jung Lee '91
  • Whitaker Hagerman Willocks '05
  • Gary Witherspoon '80

Nomination Process

Brooks School inducts a handful of talented alumni athletes from all years into our Hall of Fame each Alumni Homecoming. Feel free to submit a nomination with the form below. Thank you.

Hall of Fame Nomination Form

Hall of Fame Members


Ginger Walsh Cobb ’83
Alex Skinner ’08
1983 girls 1st lacrosse team 

Lawrence J. Harrington, III '80
Patrick J. Harrington '82
Alison Vaill Mastin '89  
KenRick P. Skerritt, Jr. '87 

Elizabeth Bruno '08
Peter Crowley '08
William Turner '65 

Charles Davies '04
Chelsey Feole '06
Eleanor Logan '06
Jennifer Russell '06
2002 Girls 1st soccer team

Timothy Bickford '67
1991 Boys 1st cross-country team

Kareen Savage Bacinski '91
Frederick Caswell '76
Jung Lee '91
1956 Boys 1st squash team

David Bouchard ’80
Robert Bonnie ’85
Whitaker Hagerman ’05

Robert Phinney, Jr. ’79
Jaime Gilbert ’04

James Saltonstall '63
Taryn King '03

Jack Soper '42
1986 Boys 1st soccer team

Julio Herrera ’51
Kerry Nugent ’01

Peter Bromley '45
Peter Eaton '60
Kim Tombarelli '90

Dick Van Slyck '39
George Carpenter '64
Sarah Broadhead Baird '99

Oliver K. Niess '53

Joseph A. Brockmire '88
Lamonique T. Collins '95
Arthur S. DeMoulas '77
Daniel J. Finneran '80
Michael G. Hajjar '65

Amory S. Carhart '40
Angela Chongris '94
Arnold Cogswell, Jr. '74
Grenville T. Emmet III '56
Peter B. Rathbone '64
Sean T. Rorke '89

David J. Bamford '61
Joanne D. Connelly '92
George P. Kattar '70
Oliver A. Parker '39

Amy E. Broadhead '94
Eugene H. Clapp III '68
Marc I. Cooper '85
Michael F. Drummey '56
Valentine Hollingsworth '72
Francis G. Jackson '33
Stephen G. Letarte '66
Michael P. Roberts '67
Christopher J. Rorke '85
Harold F. Starks, Jr. '82
James I. Wyer '41
Margaret Mauran Zuccotti '87


William McEvoy

Leo Cronan

William K. Poirot

Leonard S. 'Skip' Perkins '56

Frank D. Ashburn '73 Hon.
Nicholas J. Evangelos '97 Hon.
Howard T. Kingsbury